The Defenders Review

Hello, and welcome my review of Marvel’s The Defenders. The biggest idea I’ll go over here is probably the incredible amount of undue criticism that I think the show has gotten over the last few weeks, and why I think it’s undeserved. Before we start, I just want to remind everyone to remember, there will be MAJOR SPOILERS for Marvel’s The Defenders. And with that, let’s get into it.


Now, let it be known I don’t think it’s the best show in the Marvel Netflix Universe, in fact, compared to every other Marvel Netflix projects, it’s the second- worst, just ahead of Marvel’s Iron Fist, it’s not for lack of trying, though, or because The Defenders is a bad show. Trust me, it’s a great show compared to almost everything out there without HBO and Netflix in front of their name. At the moment, the only three shows currently airing outside of HBO and Netflix that are better than The Defenders are probably Homeland, Preacher, and American Gods. 

Now, my favorite character had to be Jessica Jones. She’s the member of the Defenders that hasn’t been seen in the longest amount of time, the last time she appeared was in her own show back in November 2015. It was refreshing to see Jones’s signature brand of sarcasm among the three other Defenders, who as of late, have been kind of squares.

Then, we, of course, have Alexandra, who is supposedly the main villain of the show. Alexandra, in the show, is explained as one of “Five Fingers of The Hand”, or one of the original five immortal founders of the Hand. I don’t know if that’s a thing in the comics, but it does sound dumb enough to be from the comics, so that’s what I’ll be going with. The writers of this show tried to make the audience feel sympathetic to Alexandra by starting off the show by showing that she has cancer, but you don’t feel bad for her, because she’s just a mean, old bitch. Anyways, she ends up getting killed by Elektra, who Alexandra resurrected, and Elektra takes over the Hand, pretty much. She’s an alright villain, but the show would have been so much better if Elektra was the main villain all along, and it probably would have saved Marvel a lot of money from Sigourney Weaver’s contract.

The Defenders had a rough run from critics, and in my book it deserved a lot more than that. It combined The Avengers with the phenomenon of the Marvel Netflix Universe, and it showed something great, but unfortunately not as great as Daredevil, Luke Cage, or Jessica Jones. Overall, I’m going to give Marvel’s The Defenders 4.05 out of 5 stars.


That has been my time, thank you for reading. Join me next Friday for my What Would I Do on the  Star Wars Franchise, Episode I: Jedi Knights. Anyways, thanks again for reading, hope you enjoyed, and remember, have a nerdy day.

 

Leave a comment