Going Into 2019 For The Blog Of Hell’s Kitchen

Hey, guys, I know I typically talk into a void when speaking in my articles, but I want to talk directly to you today because what I have to talk about directly concerns you as a viewer of the Blog Of Hell’s Kitchen. I know today would normally be the day I put out an article on my personal theories for what’s going to happen in Aquaman, but I’m not going to do that today, or, in fact, ever again. Over the last year, I’ve had a lot of very interesting things happen in my life, things that I would like to talk more about, like changing jobs, quitting college, and just general things having to do with life. However, in order to do that, and to pursue other projects, I think I need to change up the formula for the Blog Of Hell’s Kitchen. I plan to address these changes in a quick, easy-to-read format, starting right now.


  1. Doing away with deadlines

What even is the point of me having deadlines, only posting main articles on Friday between 6 and 7 pm PST, and Featured News articles on Mondays at the same time? There is none. It can end up causing a writer to just push out shitty articles, valuing quantity over quality, and I think that’s a trap I’ve fallen into with this site. I’ve come to really dislike the content I’ve put out in the last year or so because I don’t have the time to put the effort I want to into it because I’ve set myself up with these bullshit deadlines. So, I’m doing away with them to so I can put the proper amount of care into them before I release them to the world, and this is a change that will be starting immediately, so don’t expect my Aquaman review to come out on Friday.

      2. No more Featured News and Theories articles

What is the point of Featured News and Theories? Again, there’s no point, because all it does it take up more time from my reviews and editorials. I do plan to do editorials based around recent CBM news like I used to, but the format of Featured News will be done away with. I will also never do Theories again because it’s mostly just random guesswork with no point.

     3. Splitting up Reviews

I plan to split up my new review articles into 2 parts, “First Impressions” and “Final Verdict”. “First Impressions” will be on what I think of a movie after my first watch, and can be either about hot new movies that have just come out, or older movies that I’ve never seen before. “Final Verdict” will be on what I think of a movie after multiple watches, whether I’ve seen it in theatres or at home more than twice. I think “Final Verdict” will help to parse out what I really think about movies after multiple watches, but I also want to let people see what I thought initially, which is why I’ll also be doing “First Impressions”. I plan to start this with Aquaman, with my First Impressions coming out hopefully before the end of January, but I won’t push it, and my Final Verdict on it once it comes out on Redbox or Amazon.

4. Expanding to more than just Comic Book Movies

I will be forever thankful to the CBM community to giving me my start in writing, and I’ll never forget about that, but I also think it’s time to branch out to more than just comic book movies. I love all types of movies, and I want to talk about all the movies I see, from shitty comedies to Oscar darlings.


Alright, I think that’s all. Don’t expect the Aquaman First Impressions before the New Year, but I hope to talk to you again soon. Thank you for everything you guys have done for this site, and remember, have a nerdy day.

Leave a comment